## FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION 300 E. 8<sup>TH</sup> STREET, ROOM 826 AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701-3225

April 17, 2025

Refer to: HPP-TX

El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Conformity Determination Amended RMS 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program

Mr. Marc D. Williams
Executive Director
Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483

Dear Mr. Williams:

We have reviewed the documentation supporting the transportation conformity determination for the amended RMS 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (amended 2050 MTP) and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (2023-2026 TIP) adopted by the El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization's Transportation Policy Board on June 21, 2024. It is noted that the MPO adopted an RMS 2025-2028 TIP (2025-2028 TIP) on April 19, 2024. The 2025-2028 TIP was reviewed as part of the FY 2025-2028 STIP and found to be consistent with MPO's previously conforming RMS 2050 MTP, except as otherwise noted in our FHWA/FTA letter of October 18, 2024, approving the FY 2025-2028 STIP.

Based upon our review and consultation with the New Mexico FHWA Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), New Mexico Environment Department (NMED), the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT), we hereby find:

• that the amended RMS 2050 MTP and 2025-2028 TIP meet all the requirements for making a joint conformity determination under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.

## Additionally, we find:

• that the amended RMS 2050 MTP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.324 regarding the revision of metropolitan transportation plans in air quality non-attainment areas; and

• that the 2025-2028 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.326 regarding the update, public involvement, project inclusion, consistency with the plan, and fiscal constraint of TIPs in air quality non-attainment areas.

This conformity determination addresses project changes as adopted by the MPO's Transportation Policy Board and reflected in the corresponding Plan and Program.

The interagency consultative partners have indicated that they have no unresolved issues concerning this conformity determination in their letters dated: March 28, 2025, for TCEQ; April 4, 2025, for TxDOT; April 11, 2025, for U.S. EPA and NMDOT; April 15, 2025, for NMED; and the FHWA New Mexico Division's April 15, 2025, email. The conformity determination and procedures used to make this determination are in accordance with the provisions of the transportation conformity rule (40 CFR Parts 51 and 93), dated August 15, 1997, as amended. Please note that this action does not restart the four-year clock associated with a four-year plan update. Accordingly, an updated MTP and corresponding transportation conformity determination will be required by November 4, 2026.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) acts as executive agent for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) on metropolitan transportation plan and transportation improvement program air quality conformity determinations. Accordingly, this letter will serve as a joint FHWA/FTA conformity determination.

Should you have any questions concerning this action, please contact Jose Campos at <u>Jose.Campos@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5932, Barbara Maley at <u>Barbara.Maley@dot.gov</u> or (972) 561-8025 or Genevieve Bales at <u>Genevieve.Bales@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5941.

Sincerely yours,

Carl M. Highsmith

Carl M. Highsmith

Deputy Division Administrator

By Email

## Electronic copies:

Federal Transit Administration, Region 6 (FTA-6)

Donald Koski David Bartels

Marc Oliphant

Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division (FHWA-TX)

DA Al Alonzi

PPD Jose Campos, Barbara Maley, Genevieve Bales

OPS Thomas Beeman

TX-Finance

Federal Highway Administration, New Mexico Division (FHWA-NM)

Rodolfo Monge-Oviedo Salvador Portillo

United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 (U.S. EPA)

Melanie Magee Jeff Riley

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

Donna Huff Sarah Thomas

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)

Transportation Planning and Programming Division (TPP)

Humberto 'Tito' Gonzalez, Jr. Mildred Litchfield Casey Wells Raymond Sanchez Janie Temple Laura Norton

Public Transportation Division (PTN)

Eric Gleason Bonnie Sherman

Brigida Gonzalez

Environmental Affairs Division (ENV)

Doug Booher

Tim Wood Glendora Lopez

El Paso District (ELP)

Tomas Trevino Marty Boyd

New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT)

Steven Gisler

New Mexico Environment Department (NMED)

Cindy Hollenberg

El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization

Senator César J. Blanco, Chair, Transportation Policy Board

Contact: Taylor Sanchez at Taylor.Sanchez@senate.texas.gov

Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director, EPMPO

Sun Metro

Ellen Smyth